top of page

‘Our Lady Queen of the Angels’

LA, aka City of Angels, was originally named ‘Our Lady Queen of the Angels.’ This I learned on the bus from our berth in San Pedro (pronounced ‘pee-dro’) near Long Beach into downtown LA for a tour called ‘Old and New Los Angeles on Foot.’ It was very interesting, taking us past many of the wonderful Beaux Arts and Art Deco buildings LA is famous for, plus the ultra-famous movie theatres that dominated the Hollywood entertainment industry before people moved out of downtown. I don't remember the names of most of the buildings, so I will just present an overview of this aspect of LA architecture, with a few explanations — when I remember them! The Public Library, built shortly after the discovery of King Tut’s tomb in 1922. Pyramids became The Thing after that.

Flight of Angels, the funicular that takes people from downtown to uptown. When first opened in 1901, the fare was 1 cent. Now it’s 1 dollar.

Entrance to the Central Market, a repurposed grand movie palace. Like Pike’s Market in Seattle, only shabbier. But the architecture is spectacular in its way! It’s called the Million Dollar Theatre because that’s what the land and the building cost in 1918. It was the first of Sid Grauman’s movie palaces, which also included the Egyptian and the most famous, even to non-Angelinos, Grauman’s Chinese Theatre.

Inside the Central Market.

A movie-themed mural and more old movie theatres… many of them are opened for a classic movie festival each year, but otherwise, are closed. Unless used as a church.

‘All about Carla in the Orpheum circuit. Gimme a chance and I know I can work it. I had a dream...’ In case you were wondering whatever happened to Mrs Sarkozy.

The Bradbury. This office building is not much to look at on the outside...

... but the inside! Elevator doors…

More exteriors…

An entranceway.

And the interior of the Biltmore, where I think I stayed about 30 years ago during a convention for either the American Booksellers Assn or the American Library Assn, back in my publishing days.

The early Oscar ceremonies were held at the Biltmore. Photo from 1923. Along Broadway. Couldn’t resist! #

After my downtown tour, I met up with friends Lucie and David back in San Pee-dro, where we had lunch at a Lebanese restaurant, including Lebanese coffee with just a tad of mud at the bottom. Next time I see them, I hope we’re all in Umbria!

RECENT POSTS
CATEGORIES
ARCHIVE
bottom of page