top of page

My Home Away from Home ​​


The Viking Sun was built in the Fincantieri Shipyard in Acona, Italy, and launched in September. It’s their fifth ocean liner, and they’re building more as we speak. Between the christening and my embarkation, my ship is making a few de-bugging shake-down trips plus two short cruises before the world cruise embarks on December 15. I’m bummed: I wanted to be the first person to sleep in that king-size bed!

One of the ‘roll call’ correspondents wrote on the message board that on an earlier cruise on some line or other, there were considerable delays when a man killed his wife in their stateroom. Numerous people replied: Mystery plot line!

There will be shuffleboard! More important to me, there will be a bridge instructor on board the whole time who will teach and organize games. Who knows? I might return with a few duplicate bridge Master Points! Plus yoga and a fitness center, pools, and a spa with a sauna AND a snow room. Don’t know if they’ll furnish fir fronds for flagellation... I’ll wait and be surprised! #

Norwegian saying: ‘Only one who wanders finds new paths.’

RECENT POSTS
CATEGORIES
ARCHIVE
bottom of page