top of page

Passepartout Redux

What goes around the world comes around the world! I realized as I lay awake last night thinking about the blog (which hasn’t happened in over a month!), that if I do one Country Re-cap per week, it’ll take 35 weeks to re-circumnavigate the globe — by which time I will be back on board the Sun for ‘Around 2’! Guess I’d better do it by region instead. But not this first one. This one is states-side embarkation from Miami:

Leaving the Miami hotel... I’m pretty sure the ukulele has made its one and only world cruise. It got rusty from disuse. Though at the singalong that finally occurred as we steamed towards Gibraltar, the cruise director, who will be aboard my next cruise, called out, ‘We’ll do another one next time.’ I called back, ‘Only if Viking pays to ship the ukulele.’ ‘We’ll talk,’ she replied.

At the beautiful Vizcaya mansion on Biscayne Bay.

Still at Vizcaya. I think this will end up being the funniest shot of the trip. By the way, that’s not the bride.

Five hours out of the Port of Miami and the first of many shots from my veranda. My first night ever on an ocean liner, I slept with the slider open so I could listen to the wake. That’s a no-no; it messes with the AC. Next stop: Cuba. #

RECENT POSTS
CATEGORIES
ARCHIVE
bottom of page